How PiracyTrace Works

PiracyTrace was designed with simplicity in mind.

Once you've signed up for an account, your first step will be to go to the "Works" page; from here, hit the “New Work” button. Name your document (the name can be whatever you want--it does not need to match the file name), click the “Choose File” button to find your work, and hit submit. PiracyTrace takes over from here!

The first scan takes just a few minutes to scan. You can check the status by going to the “Works” page; under the “Last Scanned” column, it will give a date and time of the last scan; if it says “Never” your work has not been scanned.

Once the scan is complete, a check mark icon will appear if no plagiarism has been detected; an “X” will appear if there’s something we think you need to see. Please note: your entire work isn’t scanned at once; when a new work is upload, sections are randomly selected and checked against thousands of websites; for most books, it takes one to three months to perform a full search of your book.

If a match is found, click the title of the work, and you will see a list of all sections scanned. Click “Show Matches” and you will see what website has a similar passage found. If it is not copying, just hit “Remove Match” under “Actions”.

Don’t worry about checking the website everyday to see if your work has been copied. What’s great about PiracyTrace is we email you if copying is found! (You can also opt out of this feature by changing the setting in the “Account” section).

If you decide at any time that you would like to remove the work from your account, just hit the “Delete” button.

Sometimes there are websites where you already know your work appears, and you have given them permission. If you don’t want those websites to appear in your matches, click on “Account” from the top right corner of the website, then go to “Settings”. Under “Domains to Ignore”, add the website, then hit update. You can remove the domain by hitting the “X” as well.

If you uploaded your max amount of works, and wish to upgrade your account to a different plan, go to “Account” and “Plan”, then select the plan. Charges are prorated, so you won’t be billed for two plans.

If you are unhappy with our service, you can cancel at any time by going to “Account” and clicking on “Other”, then clicking on “Cancel my plan” (Please remember to delete all your works before leaving!)

We are just getting started! If there are features you want to see, we want to know about them! Go to our contact page to write us!